Two TRS candidates elected unanimously as MPTCs

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:46 AM

Two persons are set for unanimous election for the posts of Mandal Parishad Territorial Committee members even as the deadline for nominations for the first phase of elections to MPTC and ZPTC posts ended on Wednesday evening.

In Rajanna Siricilla district, Isampall Hema of the TRS became the only candidate to file her nomination for MPTC post making her election unopposed to the position a formality. Though residents of Garjanapalli village in Veernapalli mandal of the district originally planned to nominate the sarpanch G Karuna for the election with several other women too showing interest in contesting, everyone agreed with the TRS nominee Hema’s selection. In the end Hema was the only candidate to have filed her nomination.

Similarly, in Gurukunta village of Nawabpet mandal Mahbubnagar district, Errolla Anitha of TRS was the only nominee making her election too a mere formality. The notification for the first phase of polling was issued on April 22 with Wednesday being the last date for filing of nominations. The nominations will be scrutinized on Thursday and people will have the option of filing any objections till April 26. The deadline for withdrawal of nominations is April 28 after which unanimous elections are likely to be announced as there will be no contest where a single candidate has filed nomination. The polling for the first phase will be on May 6 from 7 am to 5 pm.