KCR to take call on TRS aspirants for ZP chiefs

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Thu, May 16, 2019, 11:15 AM

Hyderabad: With the completion of polling for the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency and Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency elections, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi

top leadership is now concentrating on selecting candidates for the posts of Zilla Parishad chairmen in the 32 districts in the state.

Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi president K. Chandrasekhar Rao had previously entrusted the responsibility of selecting the candidates for the MPTC and ZPTC members to the MLAs and ministers of the respective districts. However, the party’s top leadership has now indicated to the ministers and MLAs that Mr Chandrasekhar Rao would take the final call on the candidates.

Sources in the party revealed that keeping in view the discord among the party cadres while selecting candidates for the local body polls in certain pockets of the states, particularly from among the former Congress MLAs who had joined the party, Mr Chandrasekhar Rao had decided to take the final call on the selection of candidates to fill up the positions of the Zilla Parishad chairmen.

Sources said that the Chief Minister had already decided on candidates for certain Zilla Parishads including Asifabad, Nalgonda, Peddapally, Manchirial, Warangal (Rural) and Mahbubnagar, while for the other districts, he would most likely consider the social and caste equations of the district to identify the right candidate.

According to the sources, the party chief has indicated that former MLA Ms Kova Lakshmi would be the chairperson of Asifabad ZP, former MLA P. Madhukar as chairman of Peddapally ZP, Ms Jyothi (wife of G. Venkata Ramana Reddy, Congress MLA of Bhupalapally) as chairperson of Warangal ZP, B. Narender Reddy as chairperson of  Nalgonda ZP and former MLA Swarna Sudhakar Reddy as chairperson of Mahabubnagar ZP.

Sources also said that majority seats will most likely be given to former MLAs who faced defeat in the 2018 Assembly elections.